Loading Events

« All Events

Lutherans Restoring Creation Connections Call

June 23

Wednesday, June 23rd 

8pm EST/7pm CT/6pm MT/5pm PT/4pm AK

Focus: Western Science, Indigenous Knowledge, and Christian Faith: 
How Can Various Ways of Knowing Find Common Ground?

We will hear from Johanna Bernu, a scientist (who happens to be in 8th grade) and Descendant of the Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa in Minnesota. She will share her experiences of conducting research on the disinfectant properties of water lilies using Ojibwe knowledge alongside euro-centric scientific processes. We will also reflect on the intersection of faith and science as expressed by fellow Lutheran from the The Chippewa Cree Tribe of Rocky Boy in Montana, Loni Taylor. Listen in to her perspective in this piece (click) from our friends at the Lutheran Alliance for Faith, Science and Technology

This topic could be discussed non-stop for weeks, but we will hear from a couple perspectives to start the gears turning and share resources to explore more and keep the conversation going in other circles. We are looking to add resources to this collection and urge you to explore them and thoughtfully integrate the act of repudiating the doctrine of discovery in your Creation Care efforts. 

ZOOM DETAILS for 6/23:
LINK to Connect (Click)
OR CALL IN:
Meeting ID: 894 1788 0388 — Passcode: CONNECT
Dial by your location
+1 929 436 2866 US (New York)
+1 301 715 8592 US (Washington DC)
+1 312 626 6799 US (Chicago)
+1 669 900 6833 US (San Jose)
+1 253 215 8782 US (Tacoma)
+1 346 248 7799 US (Houston)

Details

Date:
June 23
Event Categories:
, , , ,

Venue

Online Webinar

Organizer

Lutherans Restoring Creation
Website:
http://www.lutheransrestoringcreation.org/